In my experience, the quickest and easiest way to revive a starter that has become sluggish or inactive is to follow these steps:. Leaven: 55g ripe starter Then I knead in some salt and bake it! They are very resilient. I feel like my starter is active, but my dough is not rising at all. So your final starter of 50 grms at ratio 1:2:2: is not a 100% hydration starter. Throw out your starter and start over if it shows visible signs of mold, or an orange or pink tint/streak. I hope you'll share your own sourdough starter questions and discoveries below. Don't panic! Here are some ideas on how to use (and enjoy) the excess sourdough starter. Throw out your starter and start over if it shows visible signs of mold, or an orange or pink tint/streak. I’m totally new to baking with sourdough starter and would very much like to give this a try.. When you first get your sourdough starter going, it is important to follow the directions and discard a lot of it, add a lot more flour, and baby it a bit. I came back and have been feeding it but it seems weak. (It’s a more specific recipe, but that’s the gist of it.) Or you can stash your starter in the fridge once it’s established and bake from it once a week. Sourdough starter troubleshooting: points to remember. A larger percentage of sourdough starter in the dough allows it to both rise in a cooler location and have a shorter rising time. Unlike a standard white loaf, which is made with yeast and only takes about a day to make, sourdough requires a starter that acts as a leavening agent. Take these simple steps and save your weak sourdough starter. I have waited for 12 hours and the preferement is still weak or not working. It sounds like you are over the hump now, so it should start to get a lot more active.